top of page

Our "Movember" 5th Gig

This was me in 2014. This year I am sporting the real thing. Check back for a look!

We are headed to Kirkland on Saturday to do a fundraiser for some old friends. Each year, they hold a small fundraiser for "Movember", an annual event involving the growing of mustaches during the month of November to raise awareness of various cancers, such as prostate or testicular cancer. Men should be involved in encouraging other men to participate in activities that increase early cancer detection, diagnosis and effective treatments. The goal is to ultimately reduce the number of preventable deaths. The Movember Foundation also encourages men to be aware of family history that may have an effect on their own lives.

As someone that was adopted, I have had to be much more involved in learning about my health as a middle aged man. This week, many in my life has been asking why I am suddenly sporting a mustache. It becomes a good teachable moment!

Here are a few images from my pre green screen Movember fundraisers.

Check back next week for a few pictures from our 2016 "Movember" Fundraiser in Kirkland!

bottom of page